Because of Jamaica. Because of the people and the heat and the noise and the colour. Because of warm water, sunny skies, spicy fish, caramel rum. Because of 160 days. Because of encouragement and support from behind and beside. Because of lessons learned in tears and laughter. Because of good work and deep leisure. Because of Ocho Rios and Port Antonio, Runaway Bay and Falmouth, Montego Bay and Negril, and escaping to Barbados. But first and last because of Kingston …

  • I say yes when I mean yes and no when I mean no.
  • I am both more humble and more confident.
  • I know my resilience is not a reaction to hard times but is as much a part of me as my softness.
  • I smile and laugh more often and more freely.
  • I cry without embarrassment or resistance.
  • I know my heart will work again – I will flirt, I will feel butterflies. In time I will trust both myself and … him.
  • I know that what someone says matters less than how they treat me and the actions they take.
  • I (more often) know my worth.
  • I am unapologetic for the relationships I nurture, and for those I let go of.
  • I know dreams can come true if you do the work.
  • I am blonder, tanner, fitter, and lighter (in body and soul).
  • I am more mature and less aged.
  • I know my sons are grown – they have my support, but they do not need my intervention
  • I trust in the power of friendship, even more than I always have, and rest in the sure love of my family.
  • I am strong.
  • I am grateful.
  • I am me.

 

